Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Wow, my review’s really late. Whoops. Also apparently Madeline is forcing me to add spoilers even though there were going to be spoilers already. SO WARNING, SPOILERS BELOW!

Alright, I’m assuming all of you reading this have either read the book, seen the movie, or frankly don’t care about hearing the ending of books. Me Before You is without a doubt my favorite book. The character development was outstanding, and not a single part of the plot felt drawn out unnecessarily. Now, not a single part of me thought Will was going to live. Before I picked up the book and started to read, I knew the Quadriplegic man would not reach the end of the story.  Me Before You is in no way the romance novel everyone has made it out to be. Lou and Will do not end up admitting their feelings towards each other to the last few chapters. My favorite scene in both the book and movie was the whole red dress/concert section. The way Jojo told the tale of how Will wanted to be just a man who had been to a concert with a girl in a red dress broke my heart. Will would never live a life of just a normal man. The scene where Louisa lays her heart out to Will on the beach, telling him she loves him only to be told back that it’s not enough, is so painful. I just wish we could have seen that in the movie. I still have a  hard time putting my thoughts into words about Will choosing to end his life. I can’t even begin to understand how awful and hard his life was, but at the same time he had Lou and they could have been happy. But of course he could never truly be happy and as you all can see I could go back and forth for hours. Overall Me Before You is incredibly moving and a must read. The movie was fantastic and it couldn’t have been better in my mind. Now before I go, I leave one last bit of advice- “Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle. Just live well. Just live.”

-Megan

Leave a Reply

